In This Section:

NACUA's Distinguished Service Award

William R. Kauffman - 2004

William R. Kauffman has been Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of Saint Louis University since 1995. Prior to that, he was Vice President and General Counsel of the University of Alaska; General Counsel for the Board of Regents of the State of Kansas; Assistant Attorney General for the Pennsylvania Department of Education; and Director of Employee Relations at Shippensburg State College. He received his B.A. from Gettysburg College and his J.D. from the University of Pittsburgh.

Mr. Kauffman attended his first NACUA conference in 1980 and, with only one exception, has attended every single Annual Conference and countless CLE workshops since then. His involvement in all other areas of the Association’s work has been equally extensive and distinguished. He has been a member of virtually every committee, serving as Chair of the Committees on Membership, Continuing Legal Education, Site Selection, Program for the Annual Conference, Nominations, and Honors and Awards, and the Ad Hoc Committee on Dues Matrix. He also served at various times as Vice Chair of the Committees on Membership and Continuing Legal Education.

Mr. Kauffman was first elected to a three-year term on the NACUA Board of Directors in 1989 as a member-at-large. He was then elected Second Vice President in 1996, and subsequently served as First Vice President in 1997-1998, President-Elect in 1998-1999, and as NACUA’s 39th President in 1999-2000. His tenure marked the beginning of NACUA’s strategic planning efforts, which ultimately resulted in the blueprint for the Association’s annual workplan and strategic priorities.

For nearly 25 years, William Kauffman has given selflessly and graciously of his time, expertise, and experience. His service both to NACUA and to higher education have been extraordinary. He is regarded by his colleagues and peers as a leader in the truest sense of the word. NACUA is honored to present him with the 2004 Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his contributions and the distinction he has brought to our profession over many years.