## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA) is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

## NACUA 2009-2010 Board of Directors

President  Nation Community	Members-at-Large 2007–2010
Derek P. Langhauser	Susan L. Carney
College System	Beth E. Cate
President-Elect	Laurence PendletonTennessee Board of Regents
Marianne SchimelfenigSaint Joseph's University	Dana Scaduto
Transmic Schimeneing	Leanne M. ShankWashington and Lee University
First Vice President	
Jonathan R. Alger	2008–2011
New Jersey	Kathryn E. BaerwaldGeorgetown University
	Nicholas DiGiovanni, Jr Vermont State Colleges,
Secretary	University System of New Hampshire
William J. Mullowney Valencia Community College	L. Lee Tyner
	David Williams IIVanderbilt University
Treasurer	Debra Zumwalt Stanford University
Thomas G. ClineNorthwestern University	
	2009–2012
Immediate Past President	David L. Harrison University of North Carolina
Mary E. Kennard American University	General Administration
	Dickens MathieuTufts University
	Jose D. PadillaDePaul University
	Miles J. PostemaFerris State University
	Greta Schnetzler