

## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), established in 1961, is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

## NACUA 2009-2010 Board of Directors

President	Members-at-Large	
Derek P. LanghauserMaine Community	2007–2010	
College System	Susan L. Carney	Yale University
	Beth E. Cate	Indiana University
President-Elect	Laurence Pendleton	Tennessee Board of Regents
Marianne Schimelfenig Saint Joseph's University	Dana Scaduto	Dickinson College
	Leanne M. Shank	Washington and Lee University
First Vice President		
Jonathan R. Alger Rutgers, The State University of	2008–2011	
New Jersey	Kathryn E. Baerwald	Georgetown University
	Nicholas DiGiovanni, Jr.	Vermont State Colleges,
Secretary	University System of New Hampshire	
William J. Mullowney Valencia Community College	L. Lee Tyner	
	David Williams II	Vanderbilt University
Treasurer	Debra Zumwalt	Stanford University
Thomas G. ClineNorthwestern University		
	2009–2012	
Immediate Past President	David L. Harrison	University of North Carolina
Mary E. Kennard American University		General Administration
	Dickens Mathieu	Tufts University
	Jose D. Padilla	DePaul University
	Miles J. Postema	Ferris State University
	Greta Schnetzler	