

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), established in 1961, is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

NACUA 2008-2009 Board of Directors

President Mary E. Kennard American University	Members-at-Large 2006–2009
President-Elect	Kathryn C. Bender University of North Carolina Shelley Carthen Watson
Derek P. LanghauserMaine Community College System	Miles J. PostemaFerris State University Steven D. PrevauxUniversity of South Florida Clayton D. SteadmanClemson University
First Vice President	emyton B. Beettenman
Marianne Schimelfenig Saint Joseph's University	2007–2010
	Susan L. Carney
Second Vice President	Beth E. CateIndiana University
Jonathan R. Alger Rutgers, The State University of	Laurence Pendleton Colorado State University System
New Jersey	Dana ScadutoDickinson College
	Leanne M. ShankWashington and Lee University
Secretary	
William J. Mullowney Valencia Community College	2008–2011
	Kathryn E. BaerwaldGeorgetown University
Treasurer	Nicholas DiGiovanni, Jr Vermont State Colleges,
Thomas G. ClineNorthwestern University	University System of New Hampshire
	L. Lee Tyner
Immediate Past President	David Williams IIVanderbilt University
Henry L. CuthbertDuke University	Debra ZumwaltStanford University