

The Law School

Notre Dame Law School, the oldest Roman Catholic law school in the United States, was founded in 1869 as the nation's third law school. The Notre Dame program educates men and women to become lawyers of extraordinary professional competence who possess a passion for justice, an ability to respond to human need, and a compassion for their clients and colleagues. Notre Dame Law School equips its students to practice law in every state and in several foreign nations. The school raises and explores the moral and religious questions presented by the law. The learning program is geared to skill and service. Thus, the school is committed to small classes, especially in the second and third years, and emphasizes student participation.

In order to further its goal of creating lawyers who are both competent and compassionate, Notre Dame Law School is relatively small. The Admissions Committee makes its decisions based on a concept of the "whole person." The Law School offers several joint degree programs, including M.B.A./J.D. and M.Div./J.D. Notre Dame Law School is the only law school in the United States that offers study abroad for credit on both a summer and year-round basis. Instruction is given in Notre Dame's own London Law Centre under both American and English professors. The Center for Civil and Human Rights, which is located on the home campus, adds an international dimension to the educational program that is offered there. Notre Dame Law School serves as the headquarters for the *Journal of College and University Law*.

University of Notre Dame Officers of Administration

President
John I. Jenkins, C.S.C.

Provost
Thomas G. Burish

Executive Vice President John Affleck-Graves

Notre Dame Law School Officers of Administration

Dean Patricia A. O'Hara

Executive Associate Dean John H. Robinson

Director of the Kresge Library and Associate Dean Edmund P. Edmonds

> Associate Dean Margaret Brinig

Associate Dean William K. Kelley