

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), established in 1961, is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

NACUA 2006-2007 Board of Directors

President Georgia YuanSmith College	Members-at-Large 2004–2007
President-Elect	Jonathan R. AlgerRutgers, The State University
	of New Jersey
Henry L. Cuthbert University of Wisconsin System	Harold J. Evans
	Robert J. HaverkampThe Ohio State University
First Vice President	Karen J. Stone
Mary E. Kennard American University	Paul Tanaka
Second Vice President	2005–2008
Derek P. Langhauser Maine Community	Eileen S. Goldgeier University of North Carolina
College System	General Administration
	Christina L. MendozaFlorida International University
Secretary	Michael R. OrmeBrigham Young University
Renee Smith ByasNorth Harris Montgomery	Kathleen A. Rinehart Carroll College, Mt. Mary College,
Community College District	and Silver Lake College
, ,	Nancy E. Tribbensee Arizona University System
Treasurer	,
Gerald W. Woods	2006–2009
Board of Regents	Kathryn C. Bender The Catholic University of America
	Shelley C. WatsonUniversity of Minnesota
Immediate Past President	Miles LeBlancHouston Community College System
Melinda W. GrierOregon University System	Steven D. Prevuax
and the second s	•
	Clayton D. SteadmanClemson University