

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), established in 1961, is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

NACUA 2004-2005 Board of Directors

President Melinda W. GrierOregon University System	Members-at-Large 2003–2006
President-Elect	Robert E. Bienstock
Georgia YuanSmith College	Greggory Keith SpenceNew School University Susan L. WheelerJames Madison University
First Vice President Henry L. CuthbertUniversity of Wisconsin System	Wendy S. WhiteUniversity of Pennsylvania
	2004–2007
Second Vice President	Jonathan R. AlgerUniversity of Michigan
Mary E. KennardAmerican University	Harold J. EvansUniversity of Arkansas Robert J. HaverkampThe Ohio State University
Secretary	Karen J. StoneUniversity of North Florida
Renee Smith ByasIllinois State University	Paul Tanaka
Treasurer	2005–2008
Gerald D. WoodsUniversity System of Georgia Board of Regents	Eileen S. GoldgeierUniversity of North Carolina Christina L. MendozaFlorida International University Michael R. OrmeBrigham Young University
Immediate Past President	Kathleen A. RinehartCarroll College, Mt. Mary College,
Basil H. Thomson, JrSouthern Methodist University	and Silver Lake College
	Nancy E. TribbenseeArizona University System