

## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION **OF COLLEGE AND** UNIVERSITY ATTORNEYS

The National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), established in 1961, is the primary professional association serving the needs of attorneys representing institutions of higher education. NACUA now serves over 3,000 attorneys who represent more than 1,400 campuses and 660 institutions.

The Association's purpose is to improve the quality of legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators on legal issues in higher education. NACUA accomplishes this goal through its publications, conferences, and workshops. NACUA also operates a clearinghouse for references through which attorneys share knowledge and work products on current legal problems. With its headquarters in Washington, D.C., NACUA monitors governmental developments having significant legal implications for its member institutions, coordinates the exchange of information concerning all aspects of law affecting higher education, and cooperates with other higher education associations to provide general legal information and assistance.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada are the primary constituents of NACUA. Each member institution may be represented by several attorneys, any of whom may attend NACUA meetings, perform work on committees, and serve on the Board of Directors.

## NACUA 2004–2005 Board of Directors

President	Members-at-Large
Basil H. Thomson, JrSouthern Methodist University	2002–2005
Bash II. Thomson, JI	Dennis H. BlumerThe George Washington
President-Elect	University
Melinda W. GrierOregon University System	Isis Carbajal de GarciaFlorida International University
Mennau W. Greitmanneregen entversity system	Andrew C. HugheyCentral State University
First Vice President	Derek P. LanghauserMaine Community College System
Georgia YuanSmith College	William J. MullowneyValencia Community College
Georgia Faulti-Conege	winnan 9. Wanowiegvalenera community conege
Second Vice President	2003–2006
Henry L. CuthbertUniversity of Wisconsin System	Robert E. BienstockUniversity of New Mexico
	David M. BirnbaumUniversity of California
Secretary	Greggory Keith SpenceNew School University
Renee Smith ByasIllinois State University	Susan L. WheelerJames Madison University
	Wendy S. WhiteUniversity of Pennsylvania
Treasurer	
Dayton T. ColeUniversity of North Carolina	2004–2007
General Administration	Jonathan R. AlgerUniversity of Michigan
	Harold J. EvansUniversity of Arkansas
Immediate Past President	Robert J. HaverkampThe Ohio State University
Francine Tilewick BazlukeUniversity of Vermont	Karen J. StoneUniversity of North Florida
	Paul TanakaIowa State University