FN41.  State universities and institutions may be considered public or state employers that are required to participate in E-Verify.  The North Carolina statute, for example requires state universities to enroll in E-Verify.  Universities may also be required to participate as employers or state contractors.  Currently, Colorado, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Utah require E-Verify for employers who have public contracts with state agencies or political subdivisions.  Virtually all of these states also require public employers to use E-Verify.  The Arizona and Mississippi statutes, which became effective, respectively, in January and July of 2008, are the most far-reaching of current legislation because they required all employers within the state to use E-Verify.  Effective July 1, 2009, South Carolina requires all employers with 100 or more employees to (1) register and participate in E-Verify or (2) employ only workers who, at the time of employment, had a valid South Carolina driver's license or identification card, were eligible to obtain a South Carolina driver's license card, or possessed a valid driver's license from another state where the license requirements are at least as strict as South Carolina.  See “E-Verify and the Federal Contractor Rule for Colleges and Universities” by Elise A. Fialkowski for a more detailed summary of current and pending state laws.  The article can be found at under the E-Verify subheading.  Detailed summaries of this legislation and reports on upcoming state laws are also available at