In This Section:

NACUA's Distinguished Service Award

Dayton T. Cole - 2009

Dayton Cole, General Counsel for Appalachian State University, has practiced higher education law for over 27 years, and has served as chief legal officer for Appalachian since 1988. He earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University - San Marcos) in 1976 and a doctorate in jurisprudence from South Texas College of Law in 1981. His higher education career began in 1982 at Southwest Texas State University, where he served as Assistant University Attorney, Students' Legal Advisor and Assistant to the Dean of Students. From 1984 to 1988, he was University Attorney for East Texas State University (now Texas A & M University-Commerce), and advised clients at that institution's campuses in Commerce and Texarkana. In addition to providing legal counsel, he also served as Secretary to the Board of Regents and as legislative liaison. 

Dayton’s other professional experience includes research, writing and counseling. He has taught as an adjunct member of the faculties and as a guest lecturer at East Texas State University and Appalachian State University. 

Since he began his membership in 1982, Dayton has served on numerous NACUA committees, including: the Committee on Publications, the Committee on Professional Development, the Committee on Membership and Member Services, the Committee on Program for the Annual Conference, the Committee on Continuing Legal Education, the Committee on Information Services, the CEO Search Committee, the Committee on Strategic Planning, the Committee on Finance and Audit, the Committee on Nominations and Elections, and the Committee on Honors and Awards. Dayton served as a member of the Board of Directors (1998-2001) and as Treasurer (2002-2005). 

He and his wife, Catherine, are parents to five children and reside near Boone in Watauga County, North Carolina. 

NACUA is pleased to award Dayton Cole as a recipient of the Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding and exemplary service to the Association, most especially for his services to the Board of Directors and as its Treasurer.